Iowa Waste Exchange logoSince 1990, the Iowa Waste Exchange (IWE) has been one of the nation’s premier materials exchange programs.  As a free and non-regulatory service, the IWE works with industry, business, and even local government in an effort to reduce waste.

Many businesses, schools, hospitals, and communities dispose of items and materials that others can use.  The IWE’s Resource Specialists work with facilities to find another facility that can use the disposed materials creating an exchange.

The IWRC works with the IWE to provide technical assistance along with database maintenance and coordination.

IWE Resource Specialists can help you:

  • Identify viable markets for waste materials
  • Find solutions that are environmentally-friendly for waste streams that are not marketable
  • Draft and/or review standard operating procedures for handling waste streams
  • Write waste management grant applications
  • Get involved in numerous special programs and projects

Funded by and part of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources, there is no charge to post materials or use the searches available. To learn more and access the database, visit the IWE webpage by clicking here.

Contact your area resource specialist for more information.

Iowa Waste Exchange specialist map

Area 1
Fred Kesten
Phone: 712-792-9914
Email: fkesten@region12cog.org

Area 2
Shelly Codner
Phone: 319-404-1942
Email: scodner@region12cog.org

Area 3
Ben Kvigne
Phone: 319-235-0311 ext. 125
Email: bkvigne@inrcog.org

Area 4
Alicia Presto
Phone: 319-365-9941 ext. 121
Email: alicia.presto@ecicog.org

Area 5
Julie Plummer
Phone: 563-336-3319
Email: jplummer@eicc.edu

Area 6
John Bruce
Phone: 319-365-9947 ext. 123
Email: jimreimer.iwe@gmail.com

Department of Natural Resources
Bill Blum
Phone: 515-725-8376
Email: bill.blum@dnr.iowa.gov